IRRF Postdoctoral Scholar Awards

Three IRRF Scholar Awards have been designated in honor of individuals who played a critical role in the development of the International Retinal Research Foundation and are meant to serve as a memorial to their efforts.  Three awards are given: The Alston Callahan, MD Scholar Award; The Charles D. Kelman, MD Scholar Award; and The Loris and David Rich Scholar Award.

The IRRF Postdoctoral Scholar Awards were established to provide salary and research support in the amount of $35,000 per year for a postdoctoral scholar nearing the end of his/her training.

By the end of this support, IRRF Scholars are expected to have gained the expertise necessary to engage in productive eye research so that they will be self-sufficient and independent in their own laboratory.  It is anticipated that suitable applicants will be identified by established vision scientists.

Deadline for submitting nominations for The Scholar Awards is March 15, and will be reviewed by the IRRF Director of Education, with final approval to come from the Board of Directors. All notifications will be provided in writing by June 1, with a July 1 funding date.

Recent News

IRRF Archives